top of page

I never knew how important spinach and magnesium was for the body.

Why Magnesium?

One of the many things I’m finding to be a harsh reality is that getting older really sucks when every morning is a constant reminder of your achy body and how life seems more painful. It’s amazing how things change all around after you turn 40. As a woman, gravity is the number one enemy because it’s like I literally have the world on my shoulders. After five kids, if I laugh too hard, I pee on myself a little and shake my head in disbelief that I just did that. My feet hurt before I even get up in the morning, I’ve seen hairs on my chin and don’t get started on the signs of being premenopausal. These were things I never thought about when I was in my thirties but when it became all I thought about I began to get depressed so I changed my thought process. I decided that the upside to this aging thing for me was my wisdom and knowledge and the choice of how to live my life and choose the foods that are going to benefit my aging body and keep me as young looking and feeling for as long as possible.

I didn’t always have the information to want to continue with the healthy life style my mother imposed on my sister and I growing up. She was a health nut and used to forced all kinds of “good for you foods” down our throats that didn’t taste so great, so naturally I kind of went in a different direction with my own children. I understood how to eat healthy and I knew most of the why’s. What I didn’t understand was the reason behind the why. Especially if I didn’t understand the benefits. You think it’s the same thing? Well, so did I until I compared a conversation that I had with my daughter to a conversation that I might have had with my mom when I was younger since that’s how I remembered the explanation of spinach. Of course this was before I went into fitness and discovered the added benefits as an adult.

“Eat your spinach. My mom said.

“Why?” I asked because I hated the taste.

“ Because it’s good for your body and it will make you strong like Popeye.”

Here’s my conversation with my 18 year old daughter in 2020.

“Do you know why spinach is good for you?” I asked.

“Because it makes you strong like Popeye.” She said with a smile.

“ Yes, it does strengthen your bones. The vitamin responsible for that is vitamin K1. Then you have vitamins like A for vision, bones and immune support. We all know vitamin C is a powerful antioxidant and Magnesium is needed for energy.” pretty good explanantion.


I needed a reason to continue on the health path that my mother had tried so desperately to instill in us growing up. It was conversations like the one I had with my daughter that reminds me I made the right decision in going down a similar, healthier path like my mom; for my families health and well being. This was a huge thanks to my mom for being such a health nut and it’s such a joy to be able to explain to my children in detail all the added benefits behind eating certain foods. I’m especially grateful to the knowledge that I don’t have to always resort to big, bulky vitamins when I begin falling short on my daily intake of them.

Any foods high in magnesium are the ones that I always make an abundance of, especially spinach since I suffer with leg cramping and fatigue due to my day to day. This particular nutrient caught my attention and I thought sharing the info might help someone else.


Magnesium happens to be the fourth most abundant mineral in your body. I didn’t know that, did you?

I read that it’s involved in over 300 metabolic reactions that are essential for our health. It also helps with energy production, blood pressure regulation, nerves, and muscle cramping.

People who suffer with type 2 diabetes, heart disease, depression, body cramping, mood swings and migraines have low levels of magnesium. Increasing Magnesium in your diet seems to be a win win scenario in my book, especially since I suffer with muscle soreness and occasional cramping from working out. I can get my magnesium eating my favorite food and spinach and kale trump number one on my menu.

As I researched Magnesium, I came across an article that explained the different kinds of Magnesium and I was blown away. I took the liberty of providing the information and key points on the varieties of Magnesium available today and what they’re good for. I also added some foods you can incorporate in your diet just in case you need added magnesium.


1. Magnesium Citrate

Magnesium citrate is one of the most popular types of magnesium supplements and is easily absorbed by your body. It’s used to raise magnesium levels and treat with constipation.

2. Magnesium Oxide

Magnesium oxide is often used to relieve digestive complaints like heartburn and constipation. Given that the body doesn’t absorb it well, it isn’t a good choice for those who need to raise their magnesium levels.

3. Magnesium Chloride

Magnesium chloride is easily absorbed orally and used to treat heartburn, constipation, and low magnesium levels. Also, applying it topically may help relieve muscle soreness but not boost your magnesium levels.

4. Magnesium Lactate

Magnesium lactate is effective as a dietary supplement and possibly gentler on your digestive system. It may be more suitable for those who don’t tolerate other forms or need to take especially large doses.

5. Magnesium Malate

Magnesium malate is easily absorbed and may have less of a laxative effect than other forms. It’s occasionally recommended for chronic conditions like fibromyalgia.

6. Magnesium Taurate

Magnesium Taurate may be the best form for managing high blood sugar and high blood pressure.

7. Magnesium L-threonate

Magnesium L-threonate may support brain health, potentially aiding the treatment of disorders like depression and memory loss.

8. Magnesium Sulfate

Magnesium sulfate, or Epsom salt, is a favorite in my home. Once it’s dissolved in water, it’s the best medicine to treat stress and sore muscles.

You can add essential oil for added benefits.

9. Magnesium Glycinate

Magnesium Glycinate is often used for its calming effects to treat anxiety, depression, and insomnia.

10. Magnesium Orotate

Magnesium Orotate may bolster heart health by improving energy production in your heart and blood vessel tissue.



Foods that are high in Magnesium

Spinach

Dairy products that come (from 100% grass fed diet.)

Avocados

Pumpkin seeds

Spirulina

Nori (This is an edible seaweed species of the red algae. Nori is the Japanese name for this sea vegetable. It has a very distinct and sharp flavor which makes it the preferred choice in any Japanese cuisine. The fact that this vegetable is a Japanese thing does not make it scarce or difficult to get. It is available in grocery stores and can even be ordered online. Nori can be used as a salad dressing and can also be used as a spread for sushi. Because of its rich magnesium content, it is an anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory agent.)

Pink Salt (Do not be surprised if you are just finding out that there is a kind of salt called pink salt. This salt is different from the regular table salt everyone uses. The danger of using the regular table salt is that it is being purified and this process depletes it of its natural minerals. Asides this, the process of purification also involves the introduction of additives which can be toxic to the system. Pink salt is free of all these toxic substances. Studies have shown that it has 84 essential minerals required by the human body. It is a good source of magnesium which helps regulate blood sugar and improve the body’s natural ability to induce sleep.)

Dark chocolate

Wild-caught Fish (Over farmed-fish, wild-cut fish has nutritional and environmental benefits. Wild-caught fishes are not reared like farmed-fishes. They are caught in the lake, rivers, oceans, etc. which are their natural habitats. Wild-caught fishes are one of the best magnesium-rich foods. To mention a few, some of these popularly-talked-about fishes are Albacore Tuna, Mackerel, Rainbow trout, Pacific sardines, Brook trout, Arctic char, and Sockeye salmon. These fishes offer about 80 milligrams of magnesium in a 2.5-ounce serving and consuming them protects against bone degeneration and improve heart function.)

Sprouts

Coffee (Coffee is also a favorite among foods with high magnesium concentrate. Health researchers have found out that this brewed drink prepared from roasted coffee beans is effective in protecting against type 2 diabetes, cancer of the liver, etc. Coffee is not only tasty; it also energizes and relaxes the nervous system, which are all effects of the magnesium property in it. Coffee should be consumed in normal quantity as excess can deplete the body of its magnesium stores. It has also been researched to be of great help in lowering the risk of insulin resistance. With two daily cups of coffee stirred in a healthy fat like coconut oil or butter, you are good to go.)

Nuts unsalted/Raw


Comments


BFC2712D-3752-42BB-BB9B-6B2AC3A118E1.jpeg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I hope my journey and experiences helped a little. From comedy to tragedy I share it all.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page